Specs For A Thought…

“I always think about what it means to wear eyeglasses. When you get used to glasses you don’t know how far you could really see. I think about all the people before eyeglasses were invented. It must have been weird because everyone was seeing in different ways according to how bad their eyes were. Now, eyeglasses standardize everyone’s vision to 20-20. That’s an example of everyone becoming more alike. Everyone could be seeing at different levels if it weren’t for glasses.”

― Andy Warhol

I was only twelve when I start wearing glasses. Prior to this, I had a hard time seeing things, and everything is blurry. Now, I can see everything clearly, thanks to my glasses (with thick lens).

Since then, I was often referred as “boy genius” during my freshman year in high school. Afterwards, things went pretty normal for me. It seems like my glasses become a part of my life, and not just an extension or an accessory. It is actually way cooler than I think.

##########

Okay, well these specs really serve a great purpose in correcting poor vision. But of course, it may also serve as a great fashion accessory (like the non-prescription clear glasses for example). For me, however, it is both.

So there goes the fact that you look like a nerd or a geek just because of wearing glasses. Well, some people are fascinated by it, and that’s where a dedicated fashion trend comes in. Looks like a cool trend, if you ask me.

While there are a lot of famous celebrities and personalities wearing glasses and are known for it, there were some notable fictional characters wearing glasses as well. These fictional characters include Clark Kent (Superman), Conan Edogawa (Detective Conan/Case Closed), Satoshi Hiwatari (DNAngel), Keitaro Urashima (Love Hina), Nozomu Itoshiki (Sayonara, Zetsubou-Sensei)… and of course, Harry Potter.

Even in my drawings, they’re wearing glasses. In graphical representations known as avatars, they’re also wearing glasses. Sorry about that, but it seems like they would look awesome if they’re wearing glasses just so they would be like me. Maybe I tend to do this more often, that every person I draw would look like they had problems with eyesight.

##########

At first, it may seem a bit awkward to be seen wearing glasses, as people often told me that I look like Harry Potter or something like that. But then, you wouldn’t feel awkward once you’re used to it. The only thing you might worry about is being clumsy enough to break the lens and/or the frame.

I always prefer glasses over contact lenses, since I’m more comfortable with it. Contact lenses, as I read on some sites, is somewhat difficult to use and needs to be cleaned and maintained often. Special care is needed while handling them as well. Glasses, however, needs little maintenance and it’s easy to put on.

Well, as much as I appreciate the art of correcting vision through frames and lens, it can have some great advantages aside from being able to see clearly. Just for a thought…

