Friendship And Memories: The Story Of A Transferee [L+A]

L+A stands for Literature and Article, where fiction and articles go together in a single post. Part 1 features the story while Part 2 features the article related to the story.

This story is a work of fiction. All names, characters, places, events, incidents, etc. are the products of the writer’s imagination (that’s me in this case) and/or are used fictitiously. Any resemblance to these characters, dead or alive, is 100% pure coincidence.


Friendship And Memories: The Story Of A Transferee [Story]

You can have many friends, but only a few are worthy of a true friendship. I’m so glad I never felt any attachment to any of my former classmates, my former friends. If I did, then I’ll be more than hurt now that they abandoned me as if I was a real nobody. I’m all alone now.

And just as I was about to tell them that I wanted to transfer to another school, there’s this perfect opportunity. Apparently, my mom was thinking of transferring me to another school, where my brother studied and, recently, graduated. Of course, I said yes, since I wanted to start a new life as an upcoming high school student, and I wanted to leave that dreaded school. It seems that the laid-back atmosphere of a private school isn’t going to make my life better anyway, they’re making education as a sort of a social status. That’s not right.

As expected, everything was fine. Even my new classmates are nice too, except for some scary looking guys. But I simply ignored them. And from that day on, I’m a part of their group. They were even concerned about me, which is a sign that they really cared about me. I tried my best to return the favor. I’ve never felt this glad and happy here in this new school.

All these bad memories of my past will soon be forgotten… but then, am I really forgetting anything?

##########

One October afternoon, I was walking on the street when I noticed some of my former classmates from my former school. I let out a sigh of disappointment as they walked towards me.

“Hello Lieucarl,” Gerchiu greeted me. “How are you?”

“Fine, I suppose,” I said hesitantly. Deep inside, I was in shock by their sudden appearance.

“You never showed up on that first day of high school,” Rose said. “What happened?”

“I decided to transfer to another school,” I said. “In fact, I’m doing fine. It was better than my former school.”

My former classmates nodded, understanding the situation. Cyndra smiled at me and asked, “well, I see that you’re really glad that you’ve found some new friends.”

“But you’re not going to ditch us, aren’t you?” Gerchiu asked.

I shrugged with a sad grin. “I’m afraid I can’t answer that question for now.”

“That’s okay,” Finn said as he patted my shoulder. “By the way, wanna hang out with us?”

“Yeah,” Cyndra said. “We’ve never done it since fourth grade.”

I hesitated for a moment, but give in. “All right, but then… I might consider this as a farewell party. Who knows, this might be the last time we’ll see each other.”

And everything went fine afterwards. So after a few hours hanging out with my former classmates at a nearby amusement park and having dinner at a local diner, we parted ways.

“Let’s do this again,” Cyndra said.

“Yeah. I hope we will see each other soon,” Rose said with a reassuring smile.

“Sure,” I said. “Thanks for everything!”

“You’re still with us right?” Finn asked, looking hopeful.

I thought of something to say, but I end up with a nod anyway. “Yup. As always…”

Maybe I’m still with them. Or maybe I’m no longer with them. Who knows, there’s no definite answer for that.

##########

Since that day, I never did see one of them, at least until high school ends. But then, does it matter?

All that’s left is my memories… either of that former school or my former classmates. While most parts of it are indeed painful, there was something good as well. I don’t think I’ll ever get over it. It’s a part of my life anyway.

Yes, it’s time to move on. There’s no point in remembering the past, all I have now is a better life ahead of me.


The Painful Truth Behind Friendships [Article]

For a commoner, friendships proved to be temporary. They tend to forget one another once they parted ways. Both of them eventually become strangers in each other’s eyes. The only time you’ll remember the good times with your old forgotten friend… is in an unexpected situation.

Is it right to consider friendship as temporary? You can actually say that if you think your friends had forgotten you after not seeing them for a long time and had found another. Only the loyal ones think of you.

But then, friends may come and go. So if you value your friend, always remember that he/she will be there for you no matter the absence. Even if you had hundreds of friends, not everyone can stand up to you.

Does it matter if a friend doesn’t value you? Well, if you’re attached to your so-called friend, then you’re most likely to get hurt. If not, then let go. Nothing good comes out of letting yourself getting hurt just for a friend anyway.

As you can see, I’m not really keen on meeting my former, long lost friends (almost all of them from more than ten years back) anyway. They had a life of their own, so there’s no need to bother. I believe that they only exist for some time and are gone next. Maybe I had it all wrong and I didn’t realize the true meaning of friendship. But then, there’s at least a close friend who’s going to cherish and remember me forever.

May your friendship turn to real good memories. Keep your friends well.

-kcox105 10/24/14

