Obsessions: Anime Shows And Manga Comics

I’m fascinated with anime since I was a kid. I had to admit, up until now, I’m still fascinated by it considering this is already a part of my life (well, sort of). I still watch some of the throwback anime series, as well as new ones.

Since most anime shows are based off manga comics, I’m also fascinated by it as well. In fact, I started collecting some interesting manga titles, but it’s impossible to complete sets/volumes. They’ll soon become obscure as time passes.

##########

Normally, I couldn’t hide my excitement the moment my favorite anime show comes up on screen. Since I was a kid that time, it’s normal to get excited since anime shows are far more interesting than any other regular shows… and it mostly caters to children (no questions asked).

Weekdays or weekends? They have it. Since most of its audiences are children, it’s understandable that it should be aired during mornings and/or afternoons (possibly before and after going to school), and weekends (since they don’t have classes on these days).

So there goes the time when I suddenly got interested in anime shows, despite the fact that too much TV is bad for the mind. But of course, you would still go ahead and stare at the tube and forget the stressful school life for a while. At times, the memorable scenes from these anime shows will remain in your mind, even after a few years.

Well, anime shows are the primary reason why I’m into Saturday morning fantasies… I believe I already had that in some of my articles, particularly on my second Timeline post. Again, it’s more of imagining yourself as your favorite anime character or making up your own (a la make-believe series). It was fantastic.

Nowadays, there’s the internet and you can almost find any anime series you want. Pretty amazing, we’re living in a digital age and almost anyone has access to these much-awaited and throwback anime series to watch and/or download. Anything’s possible.

It’s more than a decade since I’ve become fascinated by these anime shows, and I believe it will take about a decade or so before I’ll get over it (or maybe not).

Here’s a partial list of the anime series that I loved and watched (TV or online). It would be too much if I try to include all of them.

  • Attack On Titan (Shingeki No Kyojin)
  • Big Windup! (Ookiku Furikabutte)
  • Candidate For Goddess
  • Detective Conan (Case Closed)
  • Digimon
  • DNAngel
  • Doraemon
  • Elemental Gelade (Erementar Gerad)
  • Eyeshield 21
  • Gundam Seed + Gundam Seed Destiny
  • Kekkaishi
  • Love Hina
  • Naruto
  • Neon Genesis Evangelion
  • Pocket Monsters (Pokémon)
  • The Law Of Ueki
  • Tokyo Underground (not to be confused with the actual Tokyo Subway)
  • Trigun

##########

A few years ago, I happen to see a few manga comics in some book stores though they are quite expensive. But then, I checked the bargain section and to my surprise, there were about a few good manga comics and graphic novels. I ended up buying some of them (they’re at an affordable bargain price) and that’s where I started collecting manga comics. Since manga comics are published in tankōbon (standalone book) volumes, chances are I can only find what’s available (and wishing for the other tankōbon volumes to appear soon).

You can check this post for the titles of manga comics and graphic novels that I’ve already read since 2011. It’s on the last part.


So, the reason why I’m obsessed with anime shows and manga comics is because of their great (sometimes dramatic) story plots and cool graphics. These really appealed to me that much, that’s why I consider both of them as my obsessions.

Now that I think of it, I have two questions:

  • What anime series will I discover next?
  • Will I ever find another great manga comic(s) the moment I start checking bookstores again?
One thought on “Obsessions: Anime Shows And Manga Comics

  1. Pingback: #Throwback: Year 2014 | The World According To KCOX

Comments are closed.