The Surrealistic Adventure Game Called Yume Nikki

YumeNikki

November 2014… I was lured into playing Yume Nikki (Dream Diary in Japanese) and the moment I started playing the game, I got hooked on it. That game was from a decade ago, but I was able to play it in a virtual machine [Windows XP] and not on the machine’s OS [Windows 8].

##########

Here’s how you play the game. You, playing as Madotsuki who is a hikikomori (a recluse), are on a quest to collect all 24 effects and dropping them right at the Nexus. When you finish collecting the 24 effects, an ending will occur…

It may sound simple, but the first time I played this game, it sounds challenging that I often rely on game walkthroughs and its Wikia page in order to progress. It took me a while to get used to this game.

And that was that. It took me only a few weeks to finish the game. Afterwards, I went on and play the game’s fan-made spin-off, Yume 2kki. That fan-made game is the most extensive of all Yume Nikki fan games, and there are a lot of updates on that game too. And then I also played these other Yume Nikki fan games as well: .flow, Yume Nisshi, and Lcd Dem.

##########

Yume Nikki, as well as its fan-made remakes of the game, is created using RPG Maker. Technically, it is a surrealistic adventure game and not a role-playing game (RPG). There are no dialogues between the main character and the NPCs, and it doesn’t feature much action. Some locations can be creepy, with backgrounds featuring disturbing images such as mutilated body parts and blood, while others feature natural and artificial backgrounds. And since the game is all about dreams and the events connected to the main character, it’s more like knowing the character’s past by exploring various worlds.

At first, I find the game creepy, mysterious and weird, with a simple task of collecting effects and a twisted plot. But I enjoyed the game, driven by curiosity and fascination to the game itself.

##########

It’s been a few months since I finished Yume Nikki and I’m lured into its fan games, especially Yume 2kki. Well, the reason why I was lured to this game (and the related fan games) is that of Yume 2kki characters… Aoshiru (Cripple-tan) and Gakuran-kun. I did get to play Yume 2kki as soon as I finished Yume Nikki, despite the fact that I need to run a certain program in order to play the game due to localization issues.

Well, it takes courage and curiosity to play these games since they can [literally] scare you at times, with gory images and adrenaline-inducing chases and all that (all of which makes it even more exciting). Still, it’s a worthwhile game to play.

