Obsessions: Video Games (Except RPGs)

Well, I already featured RPG games in my previous Obsessions post. Now, it’s time to feature the rest of the video games that includes puzzle, action, and racing. All right, let’s begin!

##########

Video games may be the best way to kill some time off, especially when you need to take a break from childhood stress. The best video games never ceased to amuse me through the years.

I admit I might have spent a lot of time playing video games, but I know how to deal with this kind of addiction. Oh well, I guess they knew how addicted I am to playing video games and there’s no denying it. It’s really hard to get my hands off the game pad or keyboard while I’m in the middle of an exciting (time attack) game. Just imagine the fun of playing a puzzle game at a leisurely pace, and the intense, heart-pounding task of reaching the finish line in a car racing game.

About these games, the gameplay depends on how it is meant to be played. Puzzle games are like matching similar gems or solving puzzles. Action games may mean killing enemies and completing the objective (more of a mission). Fighting games may mean beating up your opponent under time pressure (and not getting beaten up by your opponent or letting your HP level go below your opponent’s). And racing games are more of speeding up to the finish line first. There are other video game genres too, including sports, arcade, simulation, educational, and so on.

##########

Prior to having a PC thirteen years ago, I already had a proper gaming experience with my cousin’s NES (Nintendo Entertainment System). About seventeen years ago (that was around 1997 or 1998), I was introduced to Battle City, Galaga, Twin Bee, Excitebike, F1 Race, and the all-time favorite Super Mario Bros. And then there’s the PlayStation, where I was introduced to a couple of fighting games such as Marvel vs. Capcom and Tekken. Yup, I believe that was a simpler gaming life back then.

A few years later, in 2002, I started playing a handful of console games (SNES and Game Boy Color) using an emulator. Just imagine how wonderful it is to live back then and looking forward to another level and beating your current scores. The graphic quality of these games is impressive considering that they were released about twenty years ago. And then there were GBA games with improved (3D like) graphics. I finally get to play these games about five years after, in 2007.

Computer games are getting big time improvements through the years when it comes to graphics and gameplay. From DOS based games such as Dr. Riptide and Duke Nukem to graphic intense games such as Need For Speed and The Sims, PC games are quite as popular with the gamers as with console games.

Oh well, I’m sure there are a lot more gaming consoles to cover such as the PSP, Xbox, Nintendo DS and the Wii. But I already lost interest in playing video games and I’m now focusing on Candy Crush and other puzzle games. Besides, I’m a little too old for video games. Anyways, I did get to have a great gaming experience.

##########

All right, here are some of the console games I played since 1996:

  • Battle City (NES, GB)
  • F1 Racing (NES)
  • Super Mario series (NES, SNES, GB)
  • Excitebike (NES)
  • Tetris (GBC)
  • Castlevania series (SNES, GBA)
  • Guilty Gear X (GBA)
  • Tekken 3 (PS)
  • Marvel vs. Capcom (PS)
  • Hamtaro: Ham-Hams Unite (GBC)
  • Hamtaro: Rainbow Rescue (GBA)
  • King Of Fighters ’96 (GBC)
  • V-Rally Championship (GBC)
  • Captain America (NES)
  • Othello (NES)
  • The Duel (SNES)
  • Yaiba (SNES)
  • Super Ninja Boy (SNES)
  • Super Mario Kart (SNES)
