#Throwback: Instagram

January 2014. Around the time I got my first smartphone, that was the time I joined Instagram as the user kinkeihanxxist (now kcox105).

Instagram is a social networking site, more of a photo and video sharing service. It’s where users upload or take photos and videos and share them on a variety of social media platforms such as Facebook. Basically, the photos uploaded to Instagram are confined to a square shape and adding filters and borders to that photo being uploaded.

In IG, hashtags are used for a variety of reasons, one of which is to generate a trend. If you upload an old photo, the hashtags #tbt (Throwback Thursday) or #fbf (Flashback Friday) are used. If the photo is in black and white, the hashtag #blackandwhite is used. For unaltered photos, the hashtag #nofilter is used. Normally, I also used hashtags to indicate the place where the photo was taken, and to indicate the event or holiday that happened. But such hashtags can also cause confusion. For example, the hashtag #BGC (I used this hashtag specifically for Bonifacio Global City, a business district in Taguig City) may actually mean something else, and may not be related to the uploaded pic.

##########

The first six months, my IG account had little activity and less than thirty photos uploaded. That time, I occasionally check my IG account and upload a photo or two when I feel like it. And then there’s this obsession of taking lots of pictures and uploading them. As of this writing, I’ve uploaded nearly 600 pics ranging from selfies, black and white photography, places, Christmas decors and centerpieces, throwback pics, and anything random.

Right now, I only get to check my IG account or upload photos whenever I get my smartphone to connect to Wi-Fi or mobile internet. At times, I always tend to upload about 5 or 6 photos a day, especially when I get to see a lot of interesting places and attractive landmarks, plus my unlimited number of selfies.

##########

Speaking of a throwback, here’s my first IG photo uploaded, dated 01-05-14.

“After almost two years…”

“After almost two years…”

On the photo: That’s my QWERTY phone I used to have prior to having my smartphone. These gadgets sure keep improving and changing over time.

