I Don’t Know Why I’m Like That… But I Am

I don’t know why I’m like that… but I am. I really am like that, no questions asked.

##########

So what’s unusual about me? Perhaps there are some facts about me that seemed strange and weird to you. Well, I can’t blame you for not understanding my preferences. It’s just that some people might find it annoying as to why there’s someone who’s different from the bunch like they’re expecting these people to be like them. The fact is, you can’t force someone to be like the rest of the bunch, and you can’t expect anybody to be like you. After all, we are born to be ourselves and not like anybody else.

Being different is normal. Being different means being strange and weird, up to the point that no one can come up close to you for being like that. Being different is to stand out from the crowd. Being different means being creative, as a way to distinguish yourself from the rest. There are a lot of reasons for being different, and a lot of reasons to embrace differences in a positive way, without all sorts of judgment.

##########

“So you’re a little weird? Work it! A little different? OWN it! Better to be a nerd than one of the herd!”

Mandy Hale

Not all men are created equal. This is entirely true, as each of us has our own preferences and differences, abilities and talents, among all others.

All right, let’s get on with this “being different” thing. Why is there a need to be different? Why can’t I be like the others? Sure you can simply be like someone else if you want to, but do you really have to act and behave like them?

The keyword here is being yourself. You have your own choice, they have theirs. It doesn’t matter if you didn’t have the same abilities as the others, what matters is you get to utilize whatever talents you have. Well, for example, you’re not into sports, but you’re into art, anime, and fashion. So you don’t have to go out and try to dribble a ball or hit a home run, but rather you’re going to spend a lot of time sketching characters in their unusual clothing or getting ideas on dressing up from an anime series… even doing a cosplay. That way, you’re being honest with your preference and you’re not making this up just to please people.

One more thing. Some people may convince you into joining an activity that you might or never like. In this case, you can decide for yourself whether to accept or refuse the offer. Social pressure is something I’m not fond of. I don’t need a change in lifestyle. Adapting to changes in your lifestyle can be a pain.

##########

So why I’m like that? You’d probably wonder why I’m different from the rest of the bunch. But then again, maybe you have a distinguishing feature that makes you different from the rest. Really, it’s just a matter of preference so there’s no need for you to be put off by my difference. All you have to do is accept, accept, and accept.

It pays to be different. Just be yourself, and everything will be fine.

