The Indie Film Project, A Trip In The City, And Some Interesting Happenings (Timeline College Series #17)

It’s second to the last post for this series. About time for this series to conclude… but there are a few more interesting events to cover.


It’s 2012 already, and it’s only a few months before the graduation… and the end of student life. Right now, we’re busy taping some of the scenes for our indie film based on Edgardo M. Reyes’ “Gilingang Bato” (Grinding Stone). The story is about the perseverance of a mother who makes a living by making local delicacies (kakanin) in order to support her children after her husband died. Although her children help her with making and selling the delicacies, it’s the hardworking mother who keeps on working despite her old age. For the indie film, it’s entitled “Pamana” (Inheritance). And since it’s an indie film, we also need to think of a name for our production company, which was taken from the ongoing TV series aired during that time.

Unlike the previous indie film, which I portray four characters including the infamous red hood… whatever, I only had a cameo role in this indie film since I’m part of the production. I usually do various errands for the group.

It took about two to three months to finish our indie film and we’re supposed to have a film showing sometime in March. Unfortunately, the venue (the former Grand Central Mall in Monumento, Caloocan) was destroyed by a fire (possibly due to arson or faulty wiring), rendering the event canceled. Until now, I didn’t get to watch the indie film, except for the trailer. Still, I’m looking forward to seeing it, even if it’s five years old.

##########

It looks like I’m about to add a few more places in my mall hopping list aside from the ones in North EDSA. For starters, I was really planning on a mall hopping trip (plus a visit to a few interesting places), but of course, I couldn’t do it just yet considering that I’m not used to going somewhere far on my own, plus the transportation and food expenses…

And I finally did it. With a little planning and enough money, I decided to go on a trip. Well, not exactly a trip but more of a solo excursion. I was really excited to go out and explore a few places in Manila, but with a little change in plans. Of course, I never get to visit a couple of places. I don’t know how to get to Fort Santiago (and I ended up walking a lengthy distance to Anda Circle, trying to figure out where it is without a map) and the Baywalk is being renovated. I did get a glimpse of Intramuros, the walled city, and I had a nice stroll at the Rizal Park at noon, despite the hot and bright sunny weather. The rest of the places visited throughout the day are malls.

In summary, it consists of:

  • Ten rides: 4 jeepney rides, 3 FX rides, 2 train rides (LRT-1 and MRT-3), and a bus ride from Mall of Asia to Magallanes.
  • Six malls: 3 in Quezon City, 2 in Manila, and 1 in Pasay.
  • Two historical landmarks in Manila: Rizal Park and Intramuros.
  • More than ten hours of travel time and numerous photos… my selfies are quite unattractive, but I didn’t care.

This excursion paved the way for more mall-hopping options, and a few destinations were added: Makati CBD and Ortigas Center in Mandaluyong, and later Cubao, Binondo and Marikina. Of course, there were a lot of destinations waiting to be added, but I need some research about getting to these places.

##########

I find myself reading manga books and graphic novels, and they’re quite an interesting read. I tend to finish a book within an hour, much faster than a novel. I even bought some interesting titles, like “Sayonara Zetsubou-sensei” and “Candidate For Goddess”. I even downloaded an entire anime series.

That year, I made two notable purchases: the dark red zipper vest, and a QWERTY phone. Yes, I bought a brand new phone and it’s a Wi-Fi capable handset too. Well, my previous phone (a music phone) had a problem and it’s always a hassle to restart the phone often whenever it hangs up.

In the next few weeks, I’ll be graduating from college… and that will mark the end of this chapter. More details on the final post of this series.

