Goodbye, Student Life (Timeline College Series #18)

This post officially concludes the Timeline College Series. The final post for the TCS serves as a throwback to my college graduation that happened five years ago.


This chapter will soon close, yet another chapter will soon open. It’s time to move on.

Keihancarl Oikou Xiaucham (@kcox105)

It’s only a few weeks before the college graduation. We’re done with the indie film, and we’re having the final exam for European Literature. I’ve already submitted the documentation for the second OJT at PTV-4, and I somehow managed to finish the literary analysis for selected works by Yevgeny Yevtushenko and Charles Baudelaire. To be honest, I had a hard time analyzing such works, but I did it anyway.

If I recall correctly, there was a career orientation seminar and submitting the requirements for the upcoming graduation, and later the transcript of records and the diploma. Right now, I only got the transcript of records, but not the diploma and the yearbook. I don’t know, but I haven’t thought of dropping by my college as of the moment.

##########

The moment of achievement has finally arrived… the time when I finished college. It is certainly a life changing moment for me, for I’ll be joining thousands of fellow graduates who are struggling to get hired, struggling to support themselves (and their families) in this challenging world of uncertain futures.

A few days before the graduation, we had our graduation rehearsal inside the campus. The rehearsal also includes memorizing our graduation song, and we were expected to sing it very well. I missed the first day of the rehearsal though, but that didn’t matter. We also had our baccalaureate mass at the church closest to our college, basically a message to all of the graduates.

The college graduation was held at the Folk Arts Theater in Manila, on the 19th of April. It includes all of the graduating students from all courses, as well as graduate students taking up master’s degree. I suddenly had this bittersweet feeling now that I finished college and I’ll tentatively embark on my chosen career. This marks the end of my student life and I have to move on to the next chapter.

The day ends with a family dinner at a mall in Makati, and that concludes my college life. The next day, everything is going to be different, for I’m no longer a student but a soon-to-be young professional who’s expected to find a job, but only managed a short stint as a call center agent a year-and-a-half later.


This chapter ends, but another one opens. I’m planning to recount some events that happened after this series, in a separate post. Watch out for it soon.

